Uncategorized

Nov
05

8-hr Laws & Rules, Intern, & Supervisor Liability

When should registered interns complete the 8-hour Laws & Rules Course that is required in Florida for initial license as LCSW, LMFT, or LMHC?   Most say, “this is the last step in my license process”.  We have been offering this course for over 20 years and it amazes me that so many qualified supervisors […]

By Donna Ross | Uncategorized
DETAIL
Jul
27

CEU Requirements for FL LCSW, LMFT, & LMHC License Renewal

The next renewal for LCSW, LMFT, & LMHC in Florida is 3-31-21.  A total of 30 ceus must be completed every renewal, including 5 required ceus (Medical Errors – 2 ceus; and Ethics or Telehealth – 3 ceus) and 25 general ceus.  Following is information about ceu requirements: REQUIRED SUBJECT AREA REQUIRED NUMBER OF HOURS […]

By Donna Ross | Uncategorized
DETAIL
Oct
26

New Provision in FL Baker Act

There has been a slight change in Chapter (Statute) 491 and the FL Baker Act, also known as the Florida Mental Health Act, or Chapter (Statute) 394.  Florida Senate Bill 1418 amended section 394.4615, F.S., to provide additional confidential records release circumstances and section 491.0147, F.S., to require persons licensed or certified under chapter 491, […]

By Donna Ross | Uncategorized
DETAIL
Oct
20

Stalking: Prevelance and Effects

Stalking involves a pattern of malicious, intrusive behaviors and unwanted attention. Someone might be stalked by an ex-lover, a casual acquaintance, or by someone he/she has never met. Usually, however, a stalker is someone the victim knows. About 1 in 5 female victims and 1 in 14 male victims experienced stalking between the ages of […]

By Donna Ross | Uncategorized
DETAIL
Mar
18

Abuse or Neglect of an Elderly or Disabled Adult

Chapter 315 Florida Statutes is designed to protect against abuse or neglect of an elderly or disabled adult. It is intended to detect and correct abuse, neglect, and exploitation and establish a program of protective services. Vulnerable or disabled adult means a person 18 years of age or older whose ability to perform the normal […]

By Donna Ross | Uncategorized
DETAIL
Oct
30

Failure to Report Suspicion of Child Abuse Now A 3rd Degree Felony

Failure to report suspicion of child abuse, neglect, or exploitation is now a 3rd degree felony!  Effective October 1, 2012 the law changed failure to report from a misdemeanor to a 3rd degree felony.  Each and every mandated reporter who suspects abuse, neglect, or exploitation MUST make a call to the hotline at 1-800-96-ABUSE. When […]

By Donna Ross | Uncategorized
DETAIL
Jul
01

Minors and The Florida Baker Act

Florida Baker Act UPDATE Effective July 1, 2017 House Bill 1121 requires mental health receiving facilities to initiate an involuntary examination of a minor admitted under the Florida Baker Act.  This examination must take place within 12 hours of arrival at the facility.   For more information, contact the Board of Clinical Social Work, Marriage […]

By Donna Ross | Uncategorized
DETAIL