Minors and The Florida Baker Act
Florida Baker Act UPDATE
Effective July 1, 2017 House Bill 1121 requires mental health receiving facilities to initiate an involuntary examination of a minor admitted under the Florida Baker Act. This examination must take place within 12 hours of arrival at the facility.
For more information, contact the Board of Clinical Social Work, Marriage and Family Therapy and Mental Health Counseling at 850-245-4474 or visit www.floridasmentalhealthprofessions.gov
If you need help understanding what this may mean, we can help. AA Ross Counseling has an approved 3-hour on-line course focusing on Florida Statute (Chapter) 394, Part I, The Florida Mental Health Act (often referred to as the Baker Act).Sign up for the Baker Act Course